Guantanamo Bay  hope arrives 

Rahim 6 months and 11 days. 

Many people have told me to forget about the past, find another wife and start over.

Someone even went so far as to say that I should marry Sadia since we were both in the same boat.

What no one understood was that all Sadia and I really needed were some answers, a place to start. 

Some said that because Sadia had been married for years and had kids it would be very difficult for her to move on and that I should consider myself lucky.

Salma and I were married for just over a week and that was enough to know that she was my soulmate. I could easily live my life in our shared  memories but I would rather live them with her. Some said that even if she came back , because of the torture, she would never be the same again. I didn’t care what they said. Salma would always be mine and that was enough for me.

One evening while my dad was busy at the family computer he screamed for me. I ran to him, thinking the worst and there on the screen was an e-mail from Salma.

The sign I had been praying for had arrived. My Salma was out there. I sat down to read the re-read the email and began to sob uncontrollably.

My dad stayed close his hands squeezing my shoulder, my mum cried with me. 

At the end there was a return mailing address. I wrote a hundred versions of this letter and eventually settled on the one below.

My wife Salma. 

Subhanallah!

Hearing from you is half a year of dues come true. I have been searching for you everywhere, I never lost hope that one day I would find you.

Your parents are well, I tried relocating them to South Africa but it was not possible, so I keep in touch and try to help them where I can. 

Have you seen or heard anything about Abdullah? We have no idea where he is. Sadia and I came to London a few months back to try and find the both of you but we returned home with no answers.  

Understand one thing my love…For me there is only you and I will wait for you for all the days of my life and if I don’t get to see you in this life then inshallah we will be together in the next, you better ask for me if you get their first!

Baby we are meant to be and Allah will find a way for us. 

May Allah grant us both sabre and perseverance.

Your Rahim (only yours).       

Hope arrived in a letter that day. 

5 thoughts on “Guantanamo Bay  hope arrives 

  1. Please please make the posts longer and posy more often…. Love this story is really an eye opener. May Allah grant sister Aafiyah and all those like her freedom. Aameen

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading
      Next two weeks posts are unfortunately shorter but I will be posting twice a week as we near the end of the blog.
      Due to time and being apart of various other blogs time was against me. But I do promise 2 posts a week until the end

      Like

Leave a Reply

